Written question asked by Lord Garnier (Conservative) on Wednesday, 17 December 2025, in the House of Lords. It was due for an answer on Monday, 5 January 2026. It was answered by Lord Timpson (Labour) on Monday, 5 January 2026 on behalf of the Ministry of Justice.
Prison Sentences
- Question
-
To ask His Majesty's Government how many (1) male, and (2) female, prisoners who were aged 25 years or younger at the time of sentencing were serving a life sentence in custody with a tariff of 15 years or more in each year since 2022, categorised by ethnic group.
- Answer
-
The Ministry of Justice routinely publishes data in Offender Management Statistics Quarterly (OMSQ) on the prison population.
Table 1: Number of prisoners serving life sentence who were aged 25 years or younger at sentencing, with a tariff of 25 years or more, broken down by sex, ethnicity and imprisonment status.
Ethnicity
Status
30/06/22
30/06/23
30/06/24
20/06/25
Male
Asian/Asian British
Unreleased Life
153
177
203
205
Black/Black British
Unreleased Life
487
521
578
612
Mixed
Unreleased Life
142
155
174
192
Not stated
Unreleased Life
*
*
5
3
Other ethnic group
Unreleased Life
24
24
27
28
Unrecorded
Unreleased Life
*
*
11
4
White
Unreleased Life
742
777
796
814
Female
Asian/Asian British
Unreleased Life
3
3
4
5
Black/Black British
Unreleased Life
*
*
3
3
Mixed
Unreleased Life
*
*
*
*
Not Stated
Unreleased Life
0
0
0
0
Other ethnic group
Unreleased Life
0
*
*
*
Unrecorded
Unreleased Life
0
0
0
0
White
Unreleased Life
31
34
37
39
Table notes:
Tariff length is the time between date of sentencing and tariff expiry date, and does not take into account any time served on remand.
Offenders who are 25 years old or younger at sentencing includes everyone not yet 26 years old at sentencing.
Figures include offenders who received a Whole Life Order.
Disclosure control
An asterisk (*) has been used to suppress values of two or one. This is to prevent disclosure of individual information. Further disclosure control may be completed where this alone is not sufficient.
Source: Prison NOMIS and Public Protection Unit Database
Data sources and quality
The figures in the above tables have been drawn from administrative IT systems which, as with any large scale recording system, are subject to possible errors with data entry and processing.
Secondary information
- Type
- Written question
- Reference
- HL13097
- Session
- 2024-26
- Subjects
- Prison sentences
- Contains statistics
- Yes
- Link
- View this Written question on www.parliament.uk
Librarians' tools
- Timestamp
- 2026-01-05 09:55:15 +0000
- URI
- http://data.parliament.uk/writtenparliamentaryquestion/lords/2024-26/HL13097
- In Indexing
- http://indexing.parliament.uk/Content/Edit/1?uri=http://data.parliament.uk/writtenparliamentaryquestion/lords/2024-26/HL13097
- In Solr
- https://search.parliament.uk/claw/solr/?id=http://data.parliament.uk/writtenparliamentaryquestion/lords/2024-26/HL13097